You Know How I Change My Mind…A Lot?

Today I bought a Hawaii 2011 book with one of my many Barnes and Noble gift cards.  I then sat in the Ruby Tuesday’s bar–across from said Barnes and Noble–with my mother, and showed her the book.  At some point I said ‘if only there was somewhere as beautiful, but closer and cheaper’; she added ‘yeah, that volcano thing makes me uncomfortable’.  And thus, an even better idea was born.

Can you guess it?  Hints:  1.  It is very naturally beautiful.  2.  There are very few cities–one, actually.  3.  It is ‘technically’ on a continent that I should be avoiding for at least a few years.  4.  It is closer than Hawaii.  5.  It definitely has a (very active) volcano.

Iceland--it is much closer!

I’m doing something I’ve never done before–returning a book.  The Hawaii book shall go back, and I shall purchase a newer edition of the Lonely Planet Iceland book.  You know–the one I threw out this past August.  Because we were NEVER going to go there.  And next year, I’ll go back and buy the Hawaii book that I’m returning tomorrow!

 

9 responses to “You Know How I Change My Mind…A Lot?

  1. I have always wanted to go to Iceland!!! I’ll be watching your planning with interest.

    • Well, I already email inquired about three rental properties–but I think I’m getting a little ahead of myself! I need to find a good flight deal, first! And, you know, figure out what I’m doing with my life this summer and beyond. I guess that ‘should’ come first. But of course it isn’t going to!

      • Iceland Air usually has very good fares out of NY. We had actually planned to go a few years ago- we were going to go in the winter- hubby wanted to see the northern lights, dog sled, etc. Then his mom had a stroke and we had to cut out our long trips. There are supposed to be some awesome things to do- pony ride, ATV rides, awesome scenery, not to mention the Blue Lagoon and mud baths.

  2. PS- you can also “justify” this a research for your book!!!!!!!!!!

    • yes, i want to do all of those things! we were thinking of renting a car and driving around the entire island. kind of an iceland road trip. i’ve also found some good deals on apartments in reykjavik–we could drive around for a week and then hang out in town for a week, staying up late and checking out lots of icelandic bars and restaurants. sounds like a vacation to me! though i don’t think i can write it off as research–how many families take their kids to iceland? not many, i’d wager!

      • You would be surprized. Alot of people use the “free” layover that Iceland Air allows (you can stay up to a week I’ve heard) on it’s flights to london. There are some good drives- one called the Golden Circle and one called the Full Circle. Lots of good websites with packages for rental cars, etc. Iceland air even seems to have a deal now with $400 round trip tickets from Boston (not bad from Penn., right?). You might want to check out some of their packages too- some are “self drive” others are not.

  3. $400 round trip from boston? where can i click? i’m going to go look that up RIGHT NOW!

  4. There are no McDonald’s in Iceland.

Leave a Reply

